WALL 2023-2024 Cherlyn Billy Memorial Championship

by Savanna Smith

On February 10th, 2024, the Arena Lacrosse League West Women's held their Cherlyn Billy Memorial Championship games at the Langley Field House; on the unceeded Traditional Territory of the Kwantlen, Katzie, Semiahmoo, and Matsqui First Nations. This was the second season that the Cherlyn Billy Memorial Championship took place. With the Flying Squirrels winning two consecutive years.

The Bears have had a great season, giving the fans what they wanted. Coming out each game to play their A game, and show case some talented lacrosse. This crew had great chemistry having a number of them playing together previously. They had a goalie unable to finish the season, and had Kara Goertz as their main goalie. 

The Flying Squirrels came out weekly with passion and intensity for the Medicine Game. They would have practices outside of the games, that allowed them to build solid chemistry. Many of them had previously played together and were able to show case some talented lacrosse. Often leaving fans on their toes. They have two sisters Sienna and Chanelle Prestia withing together for the second season. 

The Championship game took place at 5:30 pm by the Bears(second place team) vs the Flying Squirrels (first place team). The Bears had #1 Ella Friesen playing as their goal tender, she would have 49 saves. The Flying Squirrels had #1 Rhyan Holmes play in the first two quarters and came out with 14 saves. With #00 Darcie Conkin finishing in net after playing the last two quarters. Darcie Conkin would finish with 17 saves. 

Bears team photo 2023-2024

The first quarter the Flying Squirrels had # 2 Ashley Bull, # 19 Adrianna Santucci , #14 Megan Stewart, #17 Harlowe Steele and #12 Katelyn Walker with two goals. The Bears would score four goals in the first with goals by # 3 Christel Blesch and three goals by #10 Michela Paterson. For the second quarter the Flying Scores would have goals by #2 Ashley Bull and #14 Megan Stewart, with #19 Adrianna Santucci and #17 Harlowe Steele with two goals and #12 Katelyn Walker with three goals. The Bears would have goals by #10 Michela Paterson and #4 Macie Beck-Boreson. 

Flying Squirrels team photo 2023-2024

The third quarter saw the Bears scoring two goals with # 3 Christel Blesch and #13 Devyn Hartley. The Flying Squirrels had goals by #17 Harlowe Steele and #2 Ashley Bull to bring the score too 17 to 8. The Bears came into the fourth with a fire and intensity. The Bears had goals by #14 Alexa Cardarell and two goals each by # 3 Christel Blesch and #8 Delaney Davison to bring the score too 17 to 13. The Flying Squirrels would solitify their win with three goals in the fourth bringing the final score 20 to 13. The final three goals were scored by #11 Ava Ragan, #12 Kately Walker and #14 Megan Stewart.

We look forward to seeing these two teams in the 2024-2025 season!