Monarchs Crowned Arena Lacrosse League East Champions

by Gary Groob

Monarchs Crowned Arena Lacrosse League East Champions

The top two teams in the league squared off with each other in this year's Arena Lacrosse League East Finals at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre in Oakville, Ontario Saturday night.

Great goaltending, and stingy defenses were the order of the day in this battle for the championship.  Bailey Brown made 43 saves in the victory, while Lucas Nagy was equally as impressive with 44 saves for Brampton.  The game was a back and forth struggle all night being tied on five seperate occasions. Neither team had a bigger lead than two goals at any point in the game.  Joel Taylor (4g,0a) was the hero for Toronto scoring two late unanswered goals for the 10-8 Monarchs victory.

To The Game:

Just 0:36 seconds into the game the Monarchs took the lead when Patrick Corbett converted a Parker Pipher pass, but was answered by Mikael Chullin finishing off a Gage Board feed at 4:15.  The Express then took the lead when Sam Dramnitzke converted a Pent Eistrat pass at 13:37.

After one quarter Brampton 2 Toronto 1.

Second Quarter:

Toronto opened the scoring when Henry Follows beat Lucas Nagy off a Patrick Corbett feed at 6:09.  Brampton regained the lead with Pent Eistrat converting a Thomas MacDonald pass shorthanded at 11:50.

At the half Brampton 3 Toronto 2.

Third Quarter:

Sam Dramnitzke converted  a Ryan Campbell pass at 1:19 to give Brampton a two goal lead.  Jordan Dance brought Toronto within one goal, but a power-play goal again by Dramnitzke regained the two goal lead for the Express.  Joel Taylor scored off a Parker Pipher feed, but was answered by Mitchell Geoffrey on the power-play for Brampton off a Mikael Chullin pass at 11:39.  

The Monarchs finished the quarter strong with two late goals.  Jordan Dance converted a Henry Follows pass at 13:33, followed by Patrick Thomson scoring just 0:08 seconds later to tie the game.

After three quarters, Toronto 6 Brampton 6.

Fourth Quarter:

Brampton took the lead quickly on a Jeff Wittig goal off a Gage Board feed at 1:28.  The Monarchs answered with two goals in 0:47 seconds.  Joel Taylor scored off a Patrick Corbett pass, followed by Aaron Walker scoring unassisted. 

Mikael Chullin tied the game once again for the Express converting a Mitchell Geoffrey pass at 7:15, but two more goals from Joel Taylor sealed the victory and the championship for the Monarchs. 

Final score, Toronto 10 Brampton 8

The Three Stars:

1. Joel Taylor 
2. Bailey Brown 
3. Lucas Nagy 

Game Stats:

- Shots on goal had Toronto outshoot Brampton 54-51

- The Monarchs went 0 for 2 on the power-play. 

- Brampton went 2 for 3, also scoring a shorthanded goal.

Top Scorers:

Brampton Express:

Mikael Chullin 2g, 3a
Sam Dramnitzke 3g, 0a
Pent Eistrat 1g, 2a
Mitchell Geoffrey 1g, 2a

Toronto Monarchs:

Patrick Corbett 1g, 4a
Joel Taylor 4g, 0a
Jordan Dance 2g, 2a