Black Fish nab Kask first overall

by Gary Ahuja

Former Langley Junior Thunder player Drew Kask was chosen first overall in the Arena Lacrosse League West Division draft on October 25. Langley Events Centre file photo

Drew Kask was the first overall pick as the Arena Lacrosse League West Division gets set for its second season.

The draft was held on October 25 with the four teams – the Black Fish, Grizzlies, Sea Spray and Shooting Eagles -- adding to their rosters ahead of the season opener on November 13.

Kask spent this past season with the Langley Junior Thunder, scoring 23 goals and 40 points in 13 regular season games and then 11 goals and 28 points in 11 post-season games.

The right-handed forward from Maple Ridge was also chosen in the National Lacrosse League draft in the fifth round by the Vancouver Warriors.

With the second pick, the Grizzlies chose Kobe Noda, a left-handed defender from New Westminster.

Noda played for the New Westminster Salmonbellies, suiting up in eight games in his rookie Western Lacrosse Association season.

The third pick was Spencer Bromley to the Shooting Eagles. The left-handed offensive player from Surrey who helped the Ladner Pioneers capture the Presidents Cup Senior B championship in September. In 16 regular season games, Bromley scored 31 goals and 55 points.

And with the fourth pick, the defending champion Sea Spray nabbed Ty Ewen, a left-handed forward from Surrey. Ewen was also chosen in the NLL Draft by the expansion Las Vegas Desert Dogs.

About the Arena Lacrosse League

Established in 2017, the Arena Lacrosse League (ALL) is an amateur winter indoor development lacrosse team for players ages 18 years and older who play under the same rules as the National Lacrosse League. The league features eight teams in Ontario (ALL East) and four teams in British Columbia (ALL West) and the entire ALL West season is played out of Langley Events Centre.

Now entering its second season, 18 players who played in the ALL West last year signed contracts with National Lacrosse League teams for this upcoming season.

For more on the league, please visit